Legal Home Bakers-Insurance

Business By bellsnbows Updated 20 Apr 2009 , 2:08pm by ziggytarheel

bellsnbows Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bellsnbows Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 11:08pm
post #1 of 17

AGGGHHHH! (Sorry, I needed to get that out!)

I am so frustrated. I have been trying to find out what I need to do to get legal here in Mississippi. I am a teacher and started doing cakes for friends here and there, which has now turned into my phone ringing off the hook and my email box always full. I would LOVE to be able to quit teaching and do this full time, but it's so scary! I think I am good enough to give it a go, but I just don't know. I think the least risky way would be to do a legal home kitchen.

In Mississippi, you have to have separate kitchen. This is not that big of a deal to me because I already have a garage that has been taken into my home and it backs up to my kitchen so all of the plumbing can be tied on to my existing plumbing. My dad has been in the construction industry for 25 years, so he can do most of the planning and work.

Here's the problem, no one can tell me what I have to have and need to do! I am getting the run around from everyone I call. When I do call, I get told something different every time! There is no document they can give me that tells me exactly what I must have. I am so afraid I am going to spend money that I don't have and end up with the wrong stuff and then have to go buy the right stuff, etc.

Problem #2, I called my home-owners insurance to find out what I needed to change on my policy, etc. and if I could get business insurance with them. Long story short, they tried to tell me that no insurance company would allow me to do such a thing! WHAT??? I told them I knew 100's of people all over the country who do this! (I just love CC!)