Gum Past Or Fondant

Decorating By Mrsnoodle Updated 20 Apr 2009 , 3:19pm by underthesun

Mrsnoodle Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 7:46pm
post #1 of 14

This is probably a pretty elementary question but I have never done fondant stuff before, only piped decorations.

I have been asked to make a farm cake and realize that I need to do the animals in something other than butter cream. I have bought gum paste mix and rolled fondant. Which is my best bet for making animals and what is the difference between fondant and gum paste?

Thanks!

13 replies
pattycakesnj Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 7:53pm
post #2 of 14

I would make the animals out of half fondant and half gumpaste. All gumpaste is nasty, you would not want to eat it though technically it is edible. The gumpast will pretty much dry rock hard. All fondant, and the animals may not hold their shape. Combo of both would be best especially if the cake is for a small child and they try to eat the animals.

annez Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 7:55pm
post #3 of 14

For my son's birthday I made an animal for the top of his cake. I mixed fondant and gumpaste and liked the result. Generally, I would say that gumpaste dries harder faster...

TC123 Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 7:57pm
post #4 of 14

Hi! I think it's a good question, and you'll probably get quite a few suggestions, too!

I would suggest using a mix of fondant and gumpaste (try 50-50). To keep my answers simple, the main differences between the two are the ingredients and that gumpaste will dry much harder than fondant. I use gumpaste mostly for my flowers and for things that I want to dry harder (like my avatar, to your left). icon_smile.gif

Hope this helps! And have fun! I look forward to seeing this cake because I live in the country!!! icon_biggrin.gif

annez Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 7:57pm
post #5 of 14

lol...pattycakesne & tcarra must have been typing at the same time- they said it better. icon_wink.gif
good luck!

lorrieg Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 7:57pm
post #6 of 14