Fondant Decorating

Decorating By MrsMabe Updated 17 Apr 2009 , 7:33am by lostincake

MrsMabe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMabe Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 2:53pm
post #1 of 11

Hi, I'm new icon_smile.gif My name is Michelle. I'm pretty new to decorating. My dad's a decorator and I've watched him, which is how I've self-taught most of my "skills". But he rarely works with fondant so I'm pretty clueless with that.

I use MMF. If I cover the cake in MMF, then want to attach, say dots or something, how do I make those stick? I used buttercream to "glue" them on on my first try, but it leaked out around the edges and showed. Is there a better way? Also, any tips on coloring it and rolling it out thin enough? It was way too thick on my first try and the color was streaky. Thanks a ton!

10 replies
lordbuffington Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lordbuffington Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 3:11pm
post #2 of 11

Hi Michelle,

I'm fairly new too but the first cake I ever did was fondant. I used water as my glue but I believe you can also use vodka or even vanilla. I have used just my fingers or a little paint brush will work too.

As far as rolling it out, you can buy rolling pin "guides" that help you get an even, correct roll.

Coloring - you should use gel colors and use a toothpick to dab the color all over, then just keep working that fondant like Play Doh. Sometimes it takes a while for it to become completely even, but it will get there.

Good luck! Just do some searches...I've read thousands of posts on here and that's how I've learned the majority of what I know!

Andrea

saberger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saberger Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 3:18pm
post #3 of 11

Be sure to wear food gloves when coloring unless you want to have colored hands!!! Have fun!

chassidyg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chassidyg Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 3:19pm
post #4 of 11