Scroll Work?

Decorating By nicolesprinkle Updated 16 Apr 2009 , 2:40am by cas17

nicolesprinkle Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 9:47pm
post #1 of 14

Can anyone give me pointers on doing scroll work? I have never done it before and have a cake order in May for a 2 tier white with black scroll work. Thanks in advance!

13 replies
Marmette Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 9:51pm
post #2 of 14

oh yes im really interested in this one too

saberger Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 9:55pm
post #3 of 14

me too!

Lidunka25 Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 10:00pm
post #4 of 14

Well,... I hate to do scroll work, and I suck at it heheh, but I will try to help. For this one I used Wilton stencils

If I will have to do it again, I will draw my own scroll work on paper (or print from net. Then I will trace it on parchment paper, which I will put on the cake, and with needle (or the other pointy thing to use for pin pictures on boards) make tiny holes tracing the scroll work. Take the parchmen paper off and u will see the tiny dots which u will follow with your piping bag.... do u get what I mean?

nicolesprinkle Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 10:59pm
post #5 of 14

__Jamie__ Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 11:08pm
post #6 of 14

Scrolls like my cake here?:

Took templates or pin pricking, just a steady hand. Helps to have a well chilled cake so you can put that tip on the surface and not have swags of your piping string pull out and fall all wonky and out of round. Use a turntable as well.

cas17 Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 11:20pm
post #7 of 14

for my cake i used the c's from the wilton decorator favorites pattern press set just randomly placing them around the cake. i piped an extra swirl here and there where i thought it would look right. and yes it's better to wait until your BC is well crusted.

arosstx Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 11:29pm
post #8 of 14