I'm New At This...

Decorating By beautiful_pixie Updated 16 Apr 2009 , 10:27pm by kayla1505

beautiful_pixie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beautiful_pixie Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 6:58am
post #1 of 13

I have what may seem as a dumb question...

What kinds of fondant are edible and taste good?
I am planning on making a cake for my daughter's 2nd birthday with the Elmo theme.
I have never used or made fondant before. I have browsed the recipes and I am very confused.

Is there anyway that I can make the Wilton fondant bought at Michaels taste good? I've seen postings that it tastes terrible.

Can someone help me? Thanks

12 replies
Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 7:27am
post #2 of 13

Hi, I have done a cake in fondant and I have been using Marshmallow fondant which actually tastes pretty good.

I make it myself and it is really easy to make, well atleast the recipe i use which is basically melted marshmallows and icing sugar. Yes it is sweet but it's still good and prob way better than normal fondant which i had heard tastes bad too that why i havn't bothered to use them, except i have heard about satin ice fondant but have never tried it, but think i heard it tastes good too.

So yes if u want my really basic MMF recipe i can pass it onto you but if u want to test it, what u can do is melt a couple of marshmallows and mix in some icing sugar until it is a dough and have a sample that way you will know if u like it and if not, you didn't waste a whole batch! Hope that helps icon_smile.gif

mgigglin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mgigglin Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 7:51am
post #3 of 13

If you want to buy your fondant then Satin Ice tastes good also Choco-pan.