2 Size Of Pillars & Crystal/plastic Questions (Pic Attac

Decorating By -TenderHeart Updated 19 Aug 2005 , 9:19pm by -TenderHeart

-TenderHeart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-TenderHeart Posted 19 Aug 2005 , 2:24am
post #1 of 12

Hi, Everyone--

This is a drawing of something I have in mind, but since I've never used pillars before, I have 2 questions about how to make it happen.

First, the picture:

1.) My first question, also written into the picture icon_smile.gif : How much height will the pillar lose when it gets twisted into the separator plate? I want about 7" in between, but never having used the pillars before, I'm wondering if they lose an inch or more when they're screwed down into the separator plate. I assume they don't lose THAT much height. ??? Could someone explain this?

And my last question, 2.) Do the crystal pillars fit into the regular plastic separator plates? Are all the pillars and separator plates mix and match? (They'll be hidden on this cake, so they don't need to match each other.)

Thank you. icon_smile.gif

11 replies
CIndymm4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CIndymm4 Posted 19 Aug 2005 , 2:31am
post #2 of 12

Can't really answer the questions you have but wanted to get it bumped back up to the top to see if someone else could answer it for you!

-TenderHeart Posted 19 Aug 2005 , 3:08am
post #3 of 12

Thank you. icon_smile.gif

Anyone else?

tcturtleshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcturtleshell Posted 19 Aug 2005 , 3:12am
post #4 of 12

I don't think the pillars lose any height. I used a fountain underneath my last wedding cake & the pillars were 13 3/4 inches high. There was plenty of room for the fountain. So I think the pillars do not lose any height.

I'm not sure about your 2nd question. I've only used the white pillars on the seperator plates. I haven't used any other kind.

Someone will help you for sure!

-TenderHeart Posted 19 Aug 2005 , 3:26am
post #5 of 12

Thank you, tc. icon_smile.gif