Need Someone To Listen To My Idea.....

Decorating By Rhonda19 Updated 20 Apr 2009 , 4:14pm by KitchenKat

Rhonda19 Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 1:30pm
post #1 of 19

I was asked to make a cake for a wedding rehearsal, for my son. I am new to cake decorating, so new that I only make cakes for family and friends.

This wedding rehearsal cake has shook me up! I have such a hard time to sit and make up my own designs, I had finally decided on something for this rehearsal, and the week of the wedding.... found out it was too small. So, I am having to go with something else.

What I decided to do was make a 2 layer, 12 x 18 sheet cake.. Champagne Cake, Strawberry Creme Cheese middle, with Buttercreme Frosting.

For decorating, I was going to use the brides colors of a medium blue and drape fondant over each of the 4 ends. Then take white fondant and make 2 sheets of " paper " and put them over two of the ends, as if the 2 kids were writing each other... and by these lay a feather quill that I made out of fondant. The other 2 ends, make a Celtic " G " for the last initial.

In the middle of the cake I made 2 penguins that are the brides favorite..and dress them like a bride and groom. Then make a small tier and use a 6 inch cake. On this, I am going to take blue fondant and drape over the cake as if its another sheet of paper. Write in white.... " And the two became one " Put the date, along with 2 wedding rings. Then lay a white feather I made on top.

Would anyone like to tell me what they think of this???? I am up for all suggestions, criticisms, etc.....

Thanks for helping me..
Rhonda

18 replies
threematbros Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 1:48pm
post #2 of 19

It sounds beautiful to me. Love the penguins. Be sure and post a pic. Good luck.

costumeczar Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 1:50pm
post #3 of 19