I Have An Overhelming Urge To Undercharge....

Decorating By Mommy_Cakes Updated 19 Apr 2009 , 2:41pm by LP4702

Melvira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melvira Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 2:26pm
post #31 of 46

I may not have brought her TO the thread... but I ain't gonna pretend I don't like watching the carnage! Hehehe.

djs328 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
djs328 Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 2:27pm
post #32 of 46

It is very hard, because you don't want to feel like you are "overcharging" friends and family, but as others have said, you do not want to set the precedent of being "the cheap cake lady" who makes awesome cakes for less than the grocery store. I can also understand the feeling of "I'm no pro, so I can't charge like one" or "I'm not a real business so I can't charge that much." That being said, I don't do this as a business (yet!) but one day when I hope to, I want everyone to know that while I may be able to offer a F&F discount, that's exactly what it is, and I will be charging more to the "general public."
And thanks mommyle for that spreadsheet - I've seen Alice's Cake Matrix too (which I've yet to sit down and work through out of curiosity) but yours is a little simpler (in a good way!!!)

Good luck!!

Flowernail Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Flowernail Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 2:53pm
post #33 of 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mommy_Cakes

No offense to the pros., but if they didn't get it from me they would go to that specific grocery store. I've tried different ways for writting it up to justify it to myself...and I just can't.

I don't want the rep. of being easy, and that's why I wanted to right it up so they could see that it was just a disc. for an office function. I especially can't write it up now that I've tried with my price coming in under the grocery stores with there being 38 more servings.....hmmmm.