I Think I've Bitten Off More Than I Can Chew :(

Decorating By kayla1505 Updated 28 Apr 2009 , 2:08am by luv2cook721

kayla1505 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kayla1505 Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 4:23am
post #1 of 23

A long time close friend of my moms found out that I make cakes.

So she wants me to make a grandsons 2nd birthday cake , so I said sure

At 1st they wanted me 2 make a handy manny cake like this one

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1334181

and I was llike ok I can do that.

but now she changed her mind and she wants this

http://www.target.com/Handy-Manny-Lets-Work-Figure/dp/B0015YW238/sr=1-9/qid=1239682087/ref=sr_1_9/190-3814752-6432466?ie=UTF8&frombrowse=0&rh=k%3Ahandy%5Fmanny&page=1

on top of a 10" cake.

I was thinking of doing it out of rice krispies treats.

The problem is , I've never worked with that before.

Anyone have any tips or tutorials??

I'm scared, I dont want to let them down.

The cake isnt due till 25th so how soon can I start working with the rice krispies??

Someone please help

22 replies
chedaw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chedaw Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 4:29am
post #2 of 23

You mean, you have to make that figurine and the tools? why not just put the bought figure on top of the cake?

NanaFixIt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NanaFixIt Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 4:31am
post #3 of 23

Kayla - 1st off, don't panic! After looking at the picture, I think it would be much easier to form it out of gumpaste/fondant mix than RK. The body assembly is very similar to what Aine2 teaches in her tutorials and could easily be adapted from her figures. The tutorials are not very expensive and she gives so much description that even I felt confident trying out figures (I've made 2 so far). I am strictly a hobby baker (for g-kids only) so that's saying a lot.

I can't find her webpage right off the bat, but if you're interested in going that route, let me know and I will dig it up for you.