Pipe A Butterfly?

Decorating By yellobutterfly Updated 15 Apr 2009 , 2:28pm by PinkZiab

yellobutterfly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yellobutterfly Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 3:23am
post #1 of 8

I'm fairly new to the cake decorating scene (5 yrs.) and I'm wondering if anyone has a great technique for piping butterfiles that I might not know about? I know wilton.com usually has different project ideas but couldn't find what I was looking for there.

Here's the skinny: I'm doing 200 cupcakes as a donation to my children's school ladies' night out - these will be the dessert for the evening. So, I want them to be beautiful and delicious, while minimizing cost and time (since I have to do 200+ and won't be compensated). The theme is butterflies and I was asked to do a simple butterfly as the cupcake topper.

I have considered doing them in colorflow like the previous wilton's Course 2 butterflies, but really, I'm leaning more towards a piped technique done in royal - anyone have any suggestions, or ideas from previous publications, etc.?

Did I mention this is for Saturday evening? icon_biggrin.gif

7 replies
KellBell22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KellBell22 Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 3:31am
post #2 of 8

I tend to take on projects like this and then get way too complicated, but what I would do is pipe the wings a solid base color for the wing background. Then you could take and pipe different simple designs overtop of them. 200 Cuppies is alot to take on, good luck!!

txsteph Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
txsteph Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 3:33am
post #3 of 8

what about FBCT? I have never done it, but from what I gather on here it is not very time consuming. Well .. at least to do a few it is not, 200 will be time consuming, but possibly less than colorflow? Not sure .. as I have not done either before. Well maybe I should have just lurked and not replied LOL

handymama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
handymama Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 3:34am
post #4 of 8