Anyone Had This Happen?

Decorating By bsawyer78 Updated 14 Apr 2009 , 2:32pm by debster

bsawyer78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bsawyer78 Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 1:32am
post #1 of 14

Okay...so, I have been making cakes for about 8 yrs (short time to many of you, I know!) and my husbands aunt has always raved over my work.

She will ask me for birthday cake, anniversary cakes, etc...EXCEPT for the really important things like her childrens wedding cakes!

1st example...Her sons bridal shower(party), she had originally asked me to do the cake...we went back and forth with ideas...all of mine which were turned down! It was a martini themed shower and she didn't want black for fear of it looking like Halloween. Next thing I know, her daughter told me that she didn't want to bother me with it. She knew I was busy, blah blah blah! She ended up going to another lady...Turns out the other ladies cake was ALL OF MY IDEAS AND COVERED WITH BLACK FONDANT!

2nd example...I had offered to do the same sons wedding cake free of charge b/c I knew they could use the help...they agreed...time got closer to the date, I didn't want to mention anything to them b/c I didn't want them to feel obligated to me, but I finally asked his sister, she informed me that they were going with someone the bride found! TURNS OUT MY AUNT IN-LAW WENT TO THAT SAME OTHER LADY!

Now jump to this past weekend...Her other sons wedding! No one asked me, everyone acted very wierd around me, and at the wedding was another on of the other lady's cake! Miraculously, the day of the wedding everyone was normal again!

Now the kicker is...She has always RAVED over my cakes, has even offered to give me the start up cost to a business!

Why am I good enough for everything else, but not for the big things! Part that gets me the most is how she goes about it, very sneaky and NOT COOL AT ALL! thumbsdown.gif

13 replies
SweetSweetCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile