Glycerin?

Decorating By CourtneyJean Updated 22 Apr 2009 , 5:03pm by tonedna

CourtneyJean Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 12:31am
post #1 of 13

Hello my name is Courtney and i am new to cake central.

i printed Michele Foster's Fondant recipe posted by Sugarflowers, but could not figure out where to purchase one of the ingredients 'glycerin'. Finally i called a local pharmacy and they sold me a bottle but advised me to be cautious about eating it because the bottle says that it is a 'skin protectant/skin softer'. The Drug facts on the side of the bottle talks about using it prevent chapped, cracked or windburned skin and lips.

am i going crazy or did i buy the right thing?

12 replies
Michellers Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 5:54am
post #2 of 13

Do you have a Michael's nearby? That's where I get my glycerin. Or a local cake supply store? If not, you may have to check out an online cake supply for it. I wonder what the difference is between the pharmacy glycerin and the ingredient glycerin. Anyways, WELCOME to cakecentral!

malyn118 Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 6:11am
post #3 of 13

Hi, I just made my first batch of MFF. Both Michaels near me had run out of glycerin. I happend to come by a store called Sur La Table, which is a cooking supply store and they have it there. I just checked on their website and they have a lot of locations across the U.S. Here is there website. http://www.surlatable.com

cupcakesnbuttercream Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 6:17am
post #4 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CourtneyJean

Hello my name is Courtney and i am new to cake central.

i printed Michele Foster's Fondant recipe posted by Sugarflowers, but could not figure out where to purchase one of the ingredients 'glycerin'. Finally i called a local pharmacy and they sold me a bottle but advised me to be cautious about eating it because the bottle says that it is a 'skin protectant/skin softer'. The Drug facts on the side of the bottle talks about using it prevent chapped, cracked or windburned skin and lips.