Wedding Mints

Decorating By cakebakinmom Updated 13 Apr 2009 , 8:14pm by marccrand

cakebakinmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebakinmom Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 7:47pm
post #1 of 8

Ok, I am new to this and I need your help. I just had someone ask me to make little mints for their wedding. You know the kind that are made out of the chocolate melts with the mint flavoring. And I have no clue how much to charge. Do I charge by the mint, for the supplies plus my time or what?

7 replies
MicheleH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MicheleH Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 7:52pm
post #2 of 8

I make cream cheese mints for weddings and I charge 11 cents a mint. They are cheap to make, but are time consuming.

cakebakinmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebakinmom Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 7:56pm
post #3 of 8

Want to share your recipe?

sweetiesbykim Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetiesbykim Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 7:57pm
post #4 of 8

I've only done wedding mints with cream cheese "dough", not chocolate. I dipped some cookies in chocolate I flavored with mint oil for Christmas, which tasted really good. Unless there is a recipe I'm not familiar with, I would just add some LorAnn peppermint oil to some melted chocolate and use molds.

I have weighed my molded chocolates, to find out how much each of them weigh, then multiplied that weight by the price per pound for the chocolate. That would be your cost, plus packaging boxes, bags, bows, etc. I use a squeeze bottle vs a spoon to fill the molds quickly.

I would then see how many you can make in an hour, and figure that into how much you would like to pay yourself per hour. Then add your cost of materials and ingredients.

Hope that helps some icon_smile.gif

sweetiesbykim Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetiesbykim Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 8:05pm
post #5 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by MicheleH

I make cream cheese mints for weddings and I charge 11 cents a mint. They are cheap to make, but are time consuming.