Dumb Question.....

Decorating By MrsNewBaker Updated 13 Apr 2009 , 12:21am by indydebi

MrsNewBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsNewBaker Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 10

Since I am new to baking, I have been doctoring box cake mixes BUT I am not getting the height on my cake like I see in you guys' examples for a simple 9inch cake should i use 2 cake mix boxes to get the height i'm looking for or are there additional ingredients i need to add for extra cake batter?

I hope this question makes sense icon_sad.gif

9 replies
ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 11:59pm
post #2 of 10

Not sure how much extra ingredients you are adding to your doctored mixes, but an undoctored cake mix only makes 2x 8" cake pans. If you are not adding more ingredients (flour/sugar, etc.) and now pouring all of that in 9" cake pans, you are not going to get the height. If you read the ingredient list of some of the doctored cake mixes here in the recipe section, it should say what size pan to use. Hope that makes sense.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 11:59pm
post #3 of 10

I use slightly more than one cake mix for two 8" rounds, so I would think a 9" round would definitely need more than one cake mix. Now, I will add that since I converted to a convection oven, I use a little more batter per pan than I needed in my regular oven.

I grease-only-no-flour my pans and they rise higher. I use baking strips around the pans and reduce the temp in the oven.

Here's pics of how they bake higher than the pan: http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopic-334013-0.html

SharonK1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SharonK1973 Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 12:01am
post #4 of 10

Are you wanting to get a two layer cake out of one box? If you are, then yes, I would suggest trying two boxes. Its what I have found works for me when I want a tall cake.