Does Anyone Limit The Size/type Of Cake They Make?

Decorating By sandygirl Updated 13 Apr 2009 , 6:49pm by JenniferMI

sandygirl Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 3:35am
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone, I have been on CC alot lately, but not posted much here. Usually I am on here for a quick peak because it never fails that my 5 month old wakes up as soon as I pull up the website.

This weekend I did a large wedding cake and grooms cake. This is the first one (sold cakes) since my 5 month old was born. That being said I am considering setting a maximum number of servings that I can do. I am a home baker and work full-time. Doing this large of a cake took me a whole week of evenings to do - bake and freeze, make icings, wrap boards, fondant work, etc.

My question is does anyone else out there limit the size cake they do or the type cake they do? I don't want to say I'm not doing cakes at all, I need to get my "cake fix" every now and then.

8 replies
Kitagrl Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 3:41am
post #2 of 9

I have to limit the amount, but not size...if its a huge order, I just make sure I don't accept too many other orders that same week.

When I got licensed, I did end up buying an extra freezer though, and two "cake refrigerators" and that helps alot as far as storing several cakes away from kids and safely until pickup.

sweetiesbykim Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 3:51am
post #3 of 9

No, I don't limit the servings, just the number of orders in a week. I have some health issues, and I'm quite anemic right now, so I don't have the energy to get things done quickly. I really just plan and work ahead, and get little bits done at a time, which sounds like the baby's schedule right now!

Like -make up my boards, make or buy flowers for the cake, get BC made, shop on Monday at the latest, etc. That puts my mind at ease and then I just have to do the last minute fresh stuff.