Calling All Bakery Owners!

Business By FairyPoppins Updated 12 Apr 2009 , 10:39pm by toleshed

FairyPoppins Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 12:35am
post #1 of 9

I'm applying for a part time job at the local bakery. It has an excellent reputation as THE place to go to for upscale cakes. Unfortunately they don't have a website to browse but I have seen the cakes in the store window and know I could replicate them all.

I've never worked at a bakery before and I'm nervous about the interview (assuming they like my portfolio). So, what kinds of questions would they ask me and what techniques would I be expected to know?

Thanks for any advice or tips! icon_smile.gif

8 replies
leah_s Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 1:47am
post #2 of 9

You likely will be asked to flat ice and do a simple decorate on something such as a birthday cake. I believe the standard is (and it's been a while for me) 20 minutes from grabbing the layers out of the freezer to ready to go into the case. Level, fill, flat ice, 5 roses and border. 20 minutes.

leah_s Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 1:48am
post #3 of 9

Maybe it was 12 minutes = 5 per hour.

The memory is the first thing to go . . .

mcook1670 Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 1:51am
post #4 of 9

if it was a grocery store it would be 20 cakes a hour. I would tink that they might ask you about your experience, the different medians you know how to work with. I'm sure you'll be fine

patticakesnc Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 1:52am
post #5 of 9

LOL that is why I will never work in someone else's bakery.....It would take me 12 minutes just to get it out of the freezer and get it to my table!

rockysmommy Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 1:57am
post #6 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by patticakesnc

LOL that is why I will never work in someone else's bakery.....It would take me 12 minutes just to get it out of the freezer and get it to my table!

icon_lol.gif TOO FUNNY!!!

Kitagrl Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 2:07am
post #7 of 9

Go for it!