Newbie Here!!!!!

Decorating By MrsNewBaker Updated 12 Apr 2009 , 1:14pm by poohsmomma

MrsNewBaker Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 9:23pm
post #1 of 11

I recently decided to take up baking and cake decorating as a hobby and I have absolutely fallen in love with this board!!! I started my first decorating class this week and I just thought of a few questions and I need you guys' help!

When using the Wilton recipe for buttercream or any buttercream recipe for that matter is the meringue powder necessary?

I saw round styrofoam shapes in craft stores, can these be used as cake dummies to practice icing techniques or is there something else I can use so i dont have to bake all the time?

I know I have more questions but I just drew a blank icon_cry.gif

Thanks for all your help

10 replies
shelly-101 Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 9:29pm
post #2 of 11

well let me be the first to welcome you to CC. Not all buttercream use meringue powder but i think that it does make a smoother icing and i am not sure about the Styrofoam question but i am sure someone who knows a little more than me can answer your questions better than i can

shelly

kakeladi2 Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 9:30pm
post #3 of 11

.....using the Wilton recipe for buttercream or any buttercream recipe for that matter is the meringue powder necessary? ......

Not in my book icon_smile.gif Some say it helps stableize the icine.....maybe if you are in a very, hot, humid area - which I am not.

.......round styrofoam shapes in craft stores, can these be used as cake dummies .......

Certainly icon_smile.gif

Have a *great* time. If you are lucky enough to get a great instructor you will icon_smile.gif

282513 Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 9:32pm
post #4 of 11

Hi Welcome, this is going to become your newest addiction! It is really not so funny how addicting this sight is. It is the most wonderful place and everyone is so friendly and helpful.