I Feel So Vindicated! (Long)

Decorating By tguegirl Updated 11 Apr 2009 , 7:32pm by sweetjan

tguegirl Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 2:14am
post #1 of 21

I am a law student and only bake cakes as a hobby. Sometimes when law school is especially miserable, I'll talk about opening a bakery. My mom has started stomping out that dream whenever she can. Whenever I show her a cake I have made, her first response will be- "how much did you spend on ingredients" and then, "i
can't believe you spent $60 on ingredients! you'll have to charge $200
to make any money. who's going to pay that!?" and they're always
saying how i wouldn't make any money as a cake decorator.

well, anyways, my sister is having a one-month celebration for the
her new baby and she wanted a cake to feed 150 people. i can't go to the party b/c it's the night before my finals, but she asked me if i
knew any bakeries. i suggested a few bakeries. The first cake she inquired about was $1500, so she switched to a simpler design that was quoted as $1000. The bakery she wanted was booked, so she took the design to another bakery that is charging her $600 for the simpler cake. she booked it.

of course, i had to call my mom and tell her that I absolutely could make money as a baker! and then my mom has the
nerve to ask and make sure that i can't just make the cake!!

I told her no, but in all honesty, i wouldn't want to make a cake for someone who continuously discourages me from doing it and just sees me as a cheap option anyways. at least now she knows the real prices for these things!

20 replies
playingwithsugar Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 2:34am
post #2 of 21

Amen.

Good luck on your finals.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

Butterpatty Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 2:43am
post #3 of 21