Prepping Buttercream Swirl Flowers In Advance

Decorating By Barbclara Updated 12 Apr 2009 , 1:20am by Barbclara

Barbclara Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Barbclara Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 1:26am
post #1 of 12

Hello to all from a total newbie! (though I've been lurking for quite some time)

I'm planning to bake and decorate a cake for Easter brunch on Sunday. Since I'm super new at this I'm using a box mix, and it will be a simple round cake with two layers, using buttercream icing. I'll probably do vanilla or yellow for the flavor of the cake itself.

I'm self teaching using the Wilton course books at home (there are no classes near me icon_sad.gif ). I basically plan to follow the idea on page 31 of the "Course 1" book. Except, I'll use a light, pastel green as the main icing color. But my flowers will be pink with a light pink center.

Anyways, the book says to make the flowers before icing the cake and let them dry. It also says to use Meringue Powerder to speed up the drying.

I plan to use butter cream icing for both the main icing job as well as the flowers ans the rope decoration at the bottom of hte cake, just different consistencies. I guess my main questions are:

1. How long should i let the flowers dry before trying to tack them on the cake?

2. Should I make the consistency of the main cake icing slightly softer than that for the flowers?

Any thoughts are gratefully appreciated! Hopefully someday I'll be able to help someone else out!

Barb

11 replies
luvsfreebies72 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvsfreebies72 Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 3:10am
post #2 of 12

you could make the flowers ahead, letting them dry overnight. pipe them out onto some parchment. the cake icing needs to be thin consistency, the flowers and shell border medium consistency

Barbclara Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 4:56pm
post #3 of 12

thank you thank you thank you! icon_biggrin.gif

Barbclara Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 7:34pm
post #4 of 12

hi all,