? For Small Town Bakers

Business By amberlee416 Updated 13 Apr 2009 , 8:30pm by Deb_

amberlee416 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amberlee416 Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 5:57pm
post #1 of 10

I am starting to get more and more questions about how much i charge for my cakes, and as i am very new and have only baked for friends and family, i'm not sure how much to charge. I have read a lot of posts on here about how much others charge, but i live in a smaller town and i am seriously doubting that people are going to want to pay as much as what some are saying they're prices are. I am wondering, what do those of you who live in smaller communities charge per slice? I know it varies with detail and bc vs fondant, but i'm looking for a baseline. I really need to get these orders and get my business going. Any advice on this would be great.

9 replies
tirechic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tirechic Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 6:06pm
post #2 of 10

well,i am new to this too, but what is your towns demographic? Mine is an average of 65,000 a year per houshold, so i can afford to go a "little" bit higher, and dont forget to add delivery fees if applicable. If there are other bakeries in your area, check them out, order a cake or get a menu list, and see what they charge. You could always go a little lower (not much) to give them competition, or a little higher using the addage of made from scratch or because of custom ordering, your little personal touch. Then when you get really going, you can ask for better prices, because youll have more experience,knowledge, and word of mouth, and that can carry you far in a little town. Hope this helps.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 10:23pm
post #3 of 10