Ideas For 1St Birthday Cake

Decorating By hollie77 Updated 17 Apr 2009 , 3:00pm by cricket0616

hollie77 Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 8:24pm
post #1 of 8

Hello fellow cakers! Just wondering if anyone has some good ideas for a 1st birthday cake? My son will be one in July and I'm starting to think of ideas. I thought about doing a "1" cake from wilton and then baking cookies in the shape of 1's also. Although that's a lot of work, especially with a very busy baby running around the house. I'm also pretty new to baking so don't give me any challenging ideas, because I always think I can make a cake I've seen and it usually turns out nothing like the picture. Any ideas would be great... Thank you! And by the way, we're going to be having a lot of people for the party... possibly up to 35-50. That's why I was thinking cake and cookies.

7 replies
bashini Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 8:55pm
post #2 of 8

Hi, when I read your post, No1 cake came to me staight away too! Like you said, if you use the wilton pan, it will be much easier. Make your cookies few days ahead. If you plan ahead, when you are going to do this, then everything will be easier. icon_smile.gif

hollie77 Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 2:34pm
post #3 of 8

So my husband nixed the Number 1 birthday cake idea because he wants it to be sports themed... should've told him at that point to do it himself! So I was thinking of just doing an 11x15 cake and then using the tops of cupcakes as balls on the cake (baseball, basketball, football). I'm not the most creative person so does anyone have any ideas of how to arrange the cake, how many balls to put on it... how to make a football? etc, etc???? Any ideas would help, thank you all!

brincess_b Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 2:46pm
post #4 of 8

you could do a cupcake cake. get lots of cupcakes (as many as u need) and they can make a number 1 shape. and you could do a few types of balls on top, either in fondant or buttercream, depends what you fancy. could do a baseball, football, tennis ball.