I Need Help Making Smooooth Frosting!

Decorating By Angela93 Updated 18 Apr 2009 , 11:15pm by bakingatthebeach

Angela93 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angela93 Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 5:07pm
post #1 of 20

Ok, I'm new to cake decorating but I'm determined to master it! one problem I have is the icing.... I dont know how to get it completely smooth without lines, marks and creases! I've mostly been doing birthday cakes so its not that big a deal to have not-so-smooth frosting but I have a baby shower cake to make in a week and I want it to look professional! Can anyone help? p.s. I know fondant is an alternative but I'm not a fanicon_smile.gif

19 replies
clovely Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
clovely Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 5:31pm
post #2 of 20

I've been doing cakes for YEARS and I seemed to be getting worse at it instead of better. I've been very frustrated lately. I was thinking I was just rushing, I was too impatient, or just no good! But I've been reading a lot of posts and following a lot of links here and there are new recipes and techniques I'm trying out. I'm realizing it's not necessarily just a skill - there are secrets I was not in on!!! But everyone here is so free with their tricks and tips and secrets!!

I'm anxious to try Sugarshack's buttercream recipe. But I also found this one...

1 stick butter or margarine softened
4 ounces cream cheese softened
2 cups crisco (all vegetable shortening)
2 pounds powder sugar
flavoring

Cream butter ,cream cheese and flavoring. Add in small incremants the shortening and powder sugar. Mix on Medium about 7-10 minutes..... any flavoring works really well. Also if you are coloring it add the color when you do the flavor.

and I've found a bunch of interesting youtube links like these that have helped me a lot!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VeEOMdiSkGw&feature=email

http://www.cakecentral.com/article83-Quick--Easy-Smooth-Icing-Using-a-Roller-Melvira-Method.html