My First Disaster

Decorating By mirda6275 Updated 9 Apr 2009 , 5:50pm by RobzC8kz

mirda6275 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mirda6275 Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 3:48am
post #1 of 6

I'm new at this, only started decorating classes in January. Took Wilton I&II but haven't been able to go on since their new class minimums...
Anyway, You all here @ CC have taught me a lot and I'm using fondant decorations and can tier cakes without them collapsing in transport! icon_lol.gif That said...what I did this morning was completely stupid on my part.

I had a 2 layer cake (8" and 10" rounds, 3" high) in my regular old plastic cake carrier that I was taking into work for a co-workers birthdays. I took my hand off the bottom of the carrier so I could shut the door and the bottom came off the carrier and the cake I spent 2 hours decorating the night before rolled down the steps!

I wanted to cry!!! There was no way to salvage the cake b/c the cement steps had scraped off the icing in several spots down to the cake itself and I was NOT about to try to re-ice and serve to my co-workers (icky!). The only thing I could do was pick up the tiers and toss in in the trash icon_mad.gif

Just spent this evening re-baking and decorating and doing the fondant details...they better enjoy this cake!

I've learned my lesson...ALWAYS carry a cake with 2 hands under the cake!

5 replies
Franluvsfrosting Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Franluvsfrosting Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 4:44am
post #2 of 6

Oh, that's a bummer! Sorry that happened to you. thumbsdown.gif

twooten173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twooten173 Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 4:54am
post #3 of 6

We've all done something silly. Hang in there!

BakerDee1875 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakerDee1875 Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 4:59am
post #4 of 6