Chocolate Runouts

Decorating By Cher2309b Updated 21 Apr 2009 , 6:23am by Cher2309b

Cher2309b Posted 8 Apr 2009 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 5

Any tips on making chocolate runouts? Is it the same as using royal icing? Should I add anything to the chocolate? I would like to make chocolate bicycles and chocolate disco dancers for two different cakes. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Cheryl

4 replies
playingwithsugar Posted 9 Apr 2009 , 1:59am
post #2 of 5

Are you referring to chocolate transfers?

Theresa icon_smile.gif

Cher2309b Posted 21 Apr 2009 , 12:34am
post #3 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by playingwithsugar

Are you referring to chocolate transfers?

Theresa icon_smile.gif

I'm sorry Theresa; I'm just learning to use the forum and didn't see your reply.
Aren't chocolate transfers built up back-to-front and placed on the cake in reverse so that the surface is flat? I would like to build up a somewhat 3D effect of the picture. I had a go yesterday with some simple bike pictures - a bit messy but OK. Tried adding colour to white chocolate but it seized; so I made them from white and dark chocolate - same as run-outs (or flooding) but surface did not go smooth. They will go around the sides of the cake.
I would like to make a colourful run-out of a picture for the top. I can use royal icing but would prefer to use coloured white chocolate.
My challenges: finding colours that won't seize the chocolate and having the chocolate spread to a smooth surface.
Thanks for your interest; hope someone can advise. Have a great day.
Cheryl

playingwithsugar Posted 21 Apr 2009 , 1:31am
post #4 of 5

Well, there are a few members here who say they use regular paste colors to color chocolate. I've never had success with that. Wilton sells them at Michael's. I don't know about other craft stores. Americolor sells Flo-Coat, which prevents siezing if you use their soft paste gel colors with white chocolate.