Has Anyone Used Poured Fondant?

Decorating By Sweet-Kakes Updated 25 May 2017 , 10:00pm by MBalaska

Sweet-Kakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet-Kakes Posted 8 Apr 2009 , 8:21pm
post #1 of 19

I am thinking about using poured fondant on an upcoming wedding cake. I have never used the poured variety before, and I am wondering icon_rolleyes.gif Do you pour the fondant over buttercream? Do you do a crumbcoat first? Do you eliminate the bc altogether? I just dunno. If anyone can tell me how they do the poured fondant, I would be forever grateful! Thanks, my fellow cakers... thumbs_up.gif

18 replies
mbt4955 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbt4955 Posted 8 Apr 2009 , 8:29pm
post #2 of 19

I've never seen poured fondant used on a full size cake. I use it on my petit fours and I know that people dip the tops of cupcakes in it, but I don't see how it would work for a wedding cake. Good luck and keep us posted.

Martha

Cakeonista Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeonista Posted 8 Apr 2009 , 8:29pm
post #3 of 19

Poured fondant isn't really fondant at all, it's more of a glaze made with powdered sugar. You can pour it directly over your cake or mini cakes and it dries to a nice shiny semi-hard finish. HTH

SweetMelissa2007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetMelissa2007 Posted 8 Apr 2009 , 8:33pm
post #4 of 19

I've used poured fondant before and you do use buttercream under it. I will say it is slightly finicky and regular fondant is more forgiving. You need to make sure there are NO bumps or blemishes because the poured fondant shows everything! Also, you need to let it sit without moving because it cracks very easily.