Stencil Cake

Decorating By Sassy74 Updated 31 Mar 2010 , 2:08pm by kickasscakes

Sassy74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sassy74 Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 2:10am
post #1 of 31

I'm really hoping you ladies can help! I'm trying to apply a stencil to the sides/top of a two-tier buttercream WASC, and it looks like a two year old decorated this cake! icon_cry.gif In my 8 yrs of cake decorating, I don't think I've had this big of a disaster. I've never done this before, and it looked soooo easy. HA! Thankfully, this cake is just for practice. Whew...

First of all, I should say that I didn't refrig the cake before stenciling simply because I didn't have the room tonight. Sorry excuse, I know, but...I really don't think that's my main problem. How do you apply the icing to the stencil w/o getting it ALL OVER THE PLACE? icon_mad.gif I'm trying to be neat, but it's almost impossible to keep the icing inside the stencil. Also, what consistency icing should I be using? I've thinned it pretty well, but maybe it's still too stiff to apply cleanly. Another problem I'm having is applying enough icing, but not too much. What do you use to apply the icing? I'm using a Pampered Chef pan scraper (I have a hundred of them so it's brand new, of course!). Finally, how do you hold the stencil in place w/o the edges of the stencil marking the cake? I've had to rub out lines a hundred times, and it just doesn't look good.

Sigh...I don't know. Maybe I just need to practice this a jillion more times, but it's frustrating to NOT be able to do this well. Maybe y'all can help. Sorry this is long--thanks so much!

30 replies
MnSnow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MnSnow Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 2:19am
post #2 of 31

On CC's home page there are videos of how to stencil. It isn't actually that difficult. Maybe you could watch them and get some pointers to help you some.

HTH

kansaswolf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kansaswolf Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 2:29am
post #3 of 31