Questions For Wilton Instructors...

Decorating By The_Sugar_Fairy Updated 7 Apr 2009 , 7:59pm by zubia

The_Sugar_Fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
The_Sugar_Fairy Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 11:01pm
post #1 of 7

Hi there! I was thinking of applying to be a Wilton Instructor. I live in Ontario Canada. I've taken all the Wilton classes. Anyway, I'm just wondering how you like your job as an instructor, what store you work in, what the pay is like (min. wage?) etc.? Any info you could tell me that would help me with this decision would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

6 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 1:23pm
post #2 of 7

Sorry no one has been able to answer your ?s ;( I actually can't either. I was an instructor about 8 yrs ago and it probably have changed a lots since then.
So here's a bump that maybe others will see to help you out.

Caralinc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caralinc Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 1:34pm
post #3 of 7

Hi, I actually start teaching tonight at Michaels Craft Store, MA. From what I understand each store has a different pay scale. My suggestion would be to contact Wilton and let them know you are interestesd and they (the Supervisor for your area) will be able to provide you with the pay scale. Some stores; you are more of a contractor and you get paid directly from Wilton Enterprizes and others like to place you on their payroll as it may be easier for them. Michaels places me on their payroll. The thing that is common between the stores is that the more students you have enrolled the more money you make. So you will really want to market your classes to maximize your enrollment. Great discount at Wiltons too. Hope this helps. Good luck!

Caralinc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caralinc Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 1:36pm
post #4 of 7