Traveling With Cake

Decorating By sweetpea1972 Updated 7 Apr 2009 , 9:56pm by xstitcher

sweetpea1972 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetpea1972 Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 5:29pm
post #1 of 14

Hi all-

This is my first time traveling a long distance with a cake. I'm doing my SIL's wedding cake in TN this summer (10 hr ride). It's going to need to feed about 200! This is my gift to her so I can make it any shape I feel like.

I'm thinking that if I cover the layers in fondant and box them all separately, then I just need to assemble and put the finishing touches on it. MY DH is thinking we should do it all on-site (or at her house) but I'm just too afraid of not having the space/time etc. I need to finish it (my little ones are in the wedding as well).

Will the layers hold up on that long of a trip. I'm afraid of them sagging or shifting. Any suggestions would be appreciated icon_smile.gif

13 replies
sweetpea1972 Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 8:48pm
post #2 of 14

No suggestions?? icon_cry.gif

sweetpea1972 Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 1:37pm
post #3 of 14

bump

beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 7:05pm
post #4 of 14

Wow - your sister is very lucky! icon_smile.gif How many days before the wedding will you be in town? Do you have kitchen space you could use? Will you have alot of pre-wedding rehearsals, etc to attend? You don't want to miss all the festivities.

I've never transported a cake 10 hrs by car, but i think you're on the right track about boxing them and assembling on site. I would think the design would play a large part in your decision. Perhaps you could cover in fondant and any decoration, flowers, etc. could be added when you arrive.

I've flown with a 2 layer fondant cake, which was unassembled and it was fine.

sweetpea1972 Posted 7 Apr 2009 , 7:13pm
post #5 of 14

Beachcakes

Quote:
Quote:

Wow - your sister is very lucky!

I hope she appreciates it icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif Actually I know she does.