Crusting Vs. Non-Crusting Buttercream

Decorating By Jenthecakelady Updated 7 Apr 2009 , 2:40pm by pianocat

Jenthecakelady Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 12:47pm
post #1 of 8

I have never used a noncrusting buttercream before. I am wondering what are the advantages/disadvantages and when it would be best to use.

7 replies
mbt4955 Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 12:51pm
post #2 of 8

I'm not very good at smoothing my buttercream, so I always use a crusting recipe. I do have a case of Bettercreme in the freezer now, so I guess I'd better tone up my skills.

Here's a bump. I'll be eager to see what the pro's say! icon_smile.gif

jonahsmom Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 12:54pm
post #3 of 8

I'll be watching for an answer from the pros as well! It seems if I don't use one specific bc recipe I have a terrible time smoothing and just get frustrated....then I scrape it off and start over with my regular bc recipe....boo!!!!

BakingGirl Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 1:09pm
post #4 of 8

Non-crusting BC such as IMBC have the advantage of flavour (in some people's opinion) - it is less sweet than traditional powdered sugar BC. The texture is very smooth and silky, and it also had a beautiful gloss that you do not get with traditional BC which is much more matte. You cannot use the neat tricks you can use with crusting BC like the roller, having said that I often put my IMBC cakes in the fridge and when hard use a Viva towel and the warmth of my hand to smooth out lines and bumps. A hot dry spatula is great for smoothing IMBC although it takes a bit of practice.

pianocat Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 1:22pm
post #5 of 8

Agree with BakingGirl. I don't like the texture of 'crusted' bc for eating, the IMBC or SMBC are SO much better tasting. I do use crusting bc when I'm not filling and don't want to refrigerate cake, you can get the frosting really smooth. If you work with IMBC/SMBC you do get to the point where you can get it pretty smooth and crisp. Most of my cakes are SMBC.

Jenthecakelady Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 3:38pm