Cake Crust For Cheesecake ~ Anyone Ever Done This?

Decorating By Starkie Updated 6 Apr 2009 , 7:07pm by Starkie

Starkie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Starkie Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 11:24pm
post #1 of 7

I am just starting out with cheesecakes, and I would like to try to have an actual cake "crust" under my cheesecake. Has anyone ever tried this? Do I need to modify my boxed cake recipe at all? Thanks!

<Starkie>

6 replies
teddybr218 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
teddybr218 Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 5:06pm
post #2 of 7

I have a recipe at home that the crust starts with a cake mix,it is from Duncan Hines older cookbook. I can look it up if you want,but it is a cross between a cookie and a cake. It is good and you can do all kinds of flavors.

clovely Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
clovely Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 5:56pm
post #3 of 7

I've done this with just a thin layer cake. I put parchment paper in the bottom of the cake pan - then sprayed the sides (well) and the parchment (a little). I baked the cake as normal. While it cooled, I kinda smashed it back down. When it baked it pulled away from the sides. I made sure the cake layer filled the entire bottom of the pan and it was kinda packed down before I poured the cheesecake batter in on top. After baking the cheesecake (I used a water bath), I left it in the oven an hour, then cooled it at room temperature a couple hours then overnight in the fridge - still in the pan. The next day, with the cheesecake well chilled, I quickly turned the whole thing out onto a large enough (sturdy) board and then quicly turned it back onto the board I would decorate it on (cake-side down). Does that make sense? It worked great!!

ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 6 Apr 2009 , 6:42pm
post #4 of 7