Veiners And Gp Flowers

Decorating By ngfcake Updated 6 Apr 2009 , 9:10am by ngfcake

ngfcake Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 7:35pm
post #1 of 21

I'm new to GP flowers and I was looking at the vast amount of veiners in the market.

Is there any kind of general veiner? Or a set of "must have" veiners that are used for more than one flower/leaf?

What do you do?

20 replies
luvsfreebies72 Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 7:40pm
post #2 of 21

I'm interested to know, too. I start my gumpaste flowers class tomorrow night. woot woot!

brincess_b Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 7:53pm
post #3 of 21

i have a general leaf veiner, and as far as im concerned, that will do all my leaves! im not too worried about absolute accuracy, if theres a few lines, that will do me. i know a lot of people have bother getting a veiner to match the cutter, then trying to get your leaf on the right lines.
flower veiners i havent bothered with, im using a dresden tool (and a pallet knife before i had that) for the lines there are, but then again the ones ive done dont have much in the way of veining.

so basically, comes down to how bothered your are about realism, and what flowers you are actually doing.

ngfcake Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 7:56pm
post #4 of 21

Thank you, brincess_b. It's a great idea to use the dresden tool for that.

What is the general leaf veiner you have?

gerripje Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 8:07pm
post #5 of 21

I have the Wilton gum paste flower kit that has one in it and FMM set #2, (i think). That's all I use and works for me. It's very expensive to order lots of different ones and I will probably eventually add more as time goes on, but for now these are plenty!

Marianna46 Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 8:12pm
post #6 of 21

Sorry, y'all, but I'm stumped -- what's a dresden tool? icon_redface.gif TIA!

Justbeck101 Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 8:14pm
post #7 of 21

You can use corn husks for some also.

Tona Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 8:15pm
post #8 of 21