Need Additional Tips For Frosting Square Cake

Decorating By KPCakes Updated 9 Apr 2009 , 12:27am by KPCakes

KPCakes Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 9:01pm
post #1 of 21

Okay has anyone been there where they just need to put the cake away for awhile? Okay I put it away but still obsessing about it. I have watched the 2 videos I know of on frosting a square cake. I follow what they are saying and doing because it is how I was taught. I have been decorating for several years, and I should be able to figure out how to get a sharp corner, right? It drives me absolutely crazy! I always seem to have one droopy corner on the top, go to fix that then I see another. What would make the corners droop? do you have any tips you can share? -

Sincerely,

Droopy & Round in Michigan (Go Spartans!)

20 replies
indydebi Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 9:30pm
post #2 of 21

Dear Droopy: icon_lol.gif

Do you use baking strips on your pans? If your corners are lower than the center, it sounds like the outer edge of the cake baked faster than the interior. Baking strips will help eliminate that. If you're baking at the suggested 350 degrees, reduce the temp. In my home oven, I bake at 325 and in my shop convection, I bake at 275.

I had a square wedding cake with a couple of low corners. I built the corner up by piling icing on top and leveling it off ... I didn't ice to the shape of the cake, but worked to make the icing level. (hate that when that happens icon_sad.gif )

KPCakes Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 1:39pm
post #3 of 21