Help Lots Of Questions

Decorating By shoremedic Updated 4 Apr 2009 , 4:17pm by paulstonia

shoremedic Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 8

icon_cry.gif i have got tons of questions ... i will start out by saying i am new at this and learning on my on i am very independant and do better that way. so 1st with fondant can i add any color and any flavor and when???.. 2nd can i put icing under the fondant and if so does it need to be any certain kind for example can i use store bought icing or buttercream which ever i choose????.. 3rd cna i decorate on top of fondant and if so do i need to let it sit for a certain period of time before doing so???.. THANKS A TON icon_biggrin.gif

7 replies
mrswendel Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 3:30pm
post #2 of 8

Welcome to CC...you will soon be addicted to the site!
So, I will try to answer some of your questions, but I am sure there are others with lots more experience that will also help out.
Fondant- I don't usually add flavour to mine, so I am not really sure about that. If you are using store bought fondant, just add whatever colour you want and knead it in until it is blended. I would think it would be the same if you made your own....but I don't so someone else is better to reply.
Yes - put icing under the fondant. The only thing I've heard is to not use bettercreme. Buttercream is absolutely fine.
Decorating on top of fondant - you can do anything you want on top of the fondant, buttercream design, more fondant pieces, handpainting etc. and you really don't have to wait a certain amount of time before doing those things.

Good luck and I hope it helps a little bit!

AverageMom Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 3:31pm
post #3 of 8

Hi, and welcome! This is the best place for learning. I'm pretty new, too, and I've found tons of help here!