Fondant Experts Help Please (Long)

Decorating By islandgirl72 Updated 9 Apr 2009 , 8:43pm by islandgirl72

islandgirl72 Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 6:56am
post #1 of 18

I am very new to decorating and have had what I am praying will be a salvageable disaster.

I have a 4 yr old and 5 month old and thought I was smart doing things ahead.

Here is a link to my cake how it looked when I completed it at 4 today for delivery to the school auction tomorrow.
http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1341134

When I went to look at it tonight there was a huge lemon sized air bubble on one side. It was not filling underneath just air.

I tried to use a needle in a couple of spots, but it wasn't helping. I took off the border and re-smoothed that spot, trimmed off some excess, but the fondant still wasn't sticking to the side of the cake.

My husband suggested taking off one of the little eggs and piping icing in behind. So I did that with royal icing I had for attaching the border.

It seems to be working, but who knows what I am going to wake up to icon_cry.gif

So....what went wrong?

I baked and froze the choc WASC on Tues. I took out of freezer on Thursday and filled and covered with Indydebi's buttercream. I put it in the fridge after smoothing. Friday (today) I covered it in the MMF and decorated.

My thoughts are maybe the gumpaste bow and decorations made it settle too much or maybe a problem with how I iced or covered it.

Any suggestions for avoiding this next time would be appreciated as well as prayers that the cake will make it to delivery tomorrow.

17 replies
LeckieAnne Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 7:15am
post #2 of 18