New To Cake Decorating, Starting With Sheet Cake, Help?

Decorating By Monka_mommy Updated 4 Apr 2009 , 3:48pm by marisanovy

Monka_mommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Monka_mommy Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 3:19am
post #1 of 6

I'm new to cake decorating, but love baking and art. I want to learn decorating as a hobby to make cakes for family birthdays or any other event. My daughter's first birthday is coming up soon and my husband's grandma's birthday is right around the corner. I have a sheet cake pan that is 14x12. I am now wondering if that isn't a little too big to work with. I can really use any advice, tips, and any insights at all with baking a cake and icing. I'm lost on recipes for both and what supplies do I need for the cake and icing? I have all of the decorating supplies such as tips, bags, etc. Also a cake board and box. After searching the web I almost feel overwhelmed. Please help.

5 replies
shelly-101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shelly-101 Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 3:38am
post #2 of 6

welcome to CC there is a thread on here about everything you need to know about buttercream i am not sure how to post the link so i will give you a bump so it can get to the home page and maybe someone can post the link for you.

shelly icon_biggrin.gif

sparklynne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sparklynne Posted 4 Apr 2009 , 3:40am
post #3 of 6