In Over My Head? Long

Decorating By evbunt Updated 7 Apr 2009 , 8:21pm by evbunt

evbunt Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 11:11pm
post #1 of 46

Okay, hopefully this is an okay place to post this...I just have some issues and they fall into multiple categories so slap my wrists if this needs to be elsewhere! Okay, here's the deal, I am planning on making my daughter a castle cake for her b-day next week. i am a very inexperienced baker, but am fearless as a "cook". So, after spending over 25 hours on cc in the past week and getting internet disconnection threats from my husband, i thought I had figured out what I was gonna do and understood why i was doing them. So, to practic today, i marched myself to the store to get what i needed. Without a list.

So, to decide which cake I wanted, I bought the following: all duncan hines (on sale??)...

White cake mix, mixed in cheesecake pudding mix, 1/4 c oil, 1/4 cup water and 3 eggs (used whole thing, not just whites, so cake is not "white") and 8 oz sour cream.

Then, realized I am missing about 4 of my pans...where did they go? I don't use them much. So, since I was making 3 different kinds, I put this one in a 4 in round ceramic casserole dish and let it cook much longer. Result, little saggy in the middle, okay, thought I could deal with it, but then after cooling, when I went to level it...like soup in the middle. So, genius put it back in oven (yes after it had cooled). haven't cut into it yet, but the scraps are incredible! Now I have what looks like a bread bowl with crusted pudding in it.

Cake 2: devils food cake...am I really inexp or what - isn't it the same as chocolate?? Now, i realize I forgot sour cream at the store...so no more after cake 1... just used the pound cake recipe on side of box with the pudding. But, what exactly is the diff between pound cake? Put that in a 9x12 pan and looks okay, slightly droopy in middle, but not bad.