Cake Due Soon-Please Help!!!

Decorating By Niquie Updated 4 Apr 2009 , 3:42pm by Deb_

Niquie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Niquie Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 9:08pm
post #1 of 13

Hi all,
I have a cake due in a few hours, and my Michele Foster's Fondant is, I guess, too dry or something because it's almost crumbly. Is there something I can do to get it to bond back together or am I just screwed??? It just tears so easily and Idon't know what to do. Please Help, Anyone!!!!

Ashley

12 replies
Niquie Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 9:20pm
post #2 of 13

Anyone?????????????

isabow2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
isabow2 Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 9:28pm
post #3 of 13

If the fondant is dry you could try kneading some Crisco into it to soften it up. If that isn't working try adding a tiny amount of water & kneading it i completely.

mom2spunkynbug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2spunkynbug Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 9:33pm
post #4 of 13

I've never used that fondant before - is it something you bought, or something you made?

I've made fondant from scratch (& have bought a couple brands).

Did you by chance add a LOT of food coloring into it? That's what happened to me one time (recently). I added so much food coloring (to my homemade fondant) that it would just crumble in my hands - I wanted to cry! I just dealt with it the best I could. Covered the cake with it and tried to hide the rips & tears...

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 9:38pm
post #5 of 13

I havn't worked with that kind before, but sometimes I'll put crisco on my hands and knead it into the fondant. You may even try to microwave it for about 10 sec. or so.

chilz822 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chilz822 Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 9:50pm
post #6 of 13

Check out Michele's new FAQ page, it answers the most common questions, including this one!
icon_smile.gif
http://www.thesugarfixtoo.com/fondant.html

Niquie Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 10:15pm
post #7 of 13