How Do I Use Luster Or Pearl Dust?

Decorating By Av8rGrl Updated 6 Apr 2009 , 7:43pm by dmhart

Av8rGrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Av8rGrl Posted 2 Apr 2009 , 3:38am
post #1 of 8

I am making roses and thought that some glitter would look nice, however I have never used luster or pearl dust before. Can you give me any pointers? What is the difference between the luster dust and pearl dust? I bought both and they look almost the same but one was alittle more expensive for some reason. Can I dip the tips of the flowers in the dust, or does it have to be mixed with something and painted on?

Thanks

7 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 2 Apr 2009 , 5:33am
post #2 of 8

Hi and Welcome to CC, Av8rGrl. icon_smile.gif

Decoding CC acronyms:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-2926-.html

Everything you ever wanted to know about the various "dusts":

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-54059.html

Everythingyou need to know to bake, assemble and decorate tiered/stacked/layer cakes:
(Includes popular CC recipes for: crusting American b/c, doctored cake mix (WASC) and fondant. And so much more.)

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-605188.html

HTH

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 3:28pm
post #3 of 8

I just have to say that you should really use alcohol when painting the luster dust on. I don't drink alcohol and never wanted it in my house. So I just always tried to stay away from using it. I would mix vanilla with the luster dust. But the alcohol really makes a big difference! When I finally broke down and bought some, the paint just came out so much nicer! I used everclear. =o)

jensenscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jensenscakes Posted 3 Apr 2009 , 6:47pm
post #4 of 8

I think that it depends on what type of look you want. I usually like the soft pearly look so I just use a soft brush and brush it on. Good Luck with your roses.