Please Don't Shoot Me, I Need Help!

Decorating By Kitchen_Witch Updated 31 Mar 2009 , 4:16pm by juleebug

Kitchen_Witch Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 3:29pm
post #1 of 5

A co-worker of my mother's saw the dragon cake I just did for my daughter's 3rd birthday. She is now asking me to make a cake for her daughter's birthday. She would really like me to make this cake from Bugzplaypark. I have no clue what to charge. I would normally charge $2.50-$4 per serving for a cake, but this is with fondant figures and is carved.... I know people get upset about cake pricing questions but I really have no idea what to charge for this. Please help?

I am just a hobbyist and really only make cakes for my family and once in awhile for friends. I can do this cake, but figuring out how much to ask for is beyond me. My first thought was $65-$85 but I am concerned that is too high and my mother says it is too low. haha
LL

4 replies
brincess_b Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 3:53pm
post #2 of 5

id say up your per serving charge, since carving is more work. and figure out a price per character. then off you go!
xx

Kitchen_Witch Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 4:03pm
post #3 of 5

Thank you, thats a good place to start. My biggest problem though is that I have no idea how much to charge for figures like this. I know prices vary wildly from area to area and depending on how good the cake artist is. Since I can only do basic figures, very similar to what is in the picture, I am wondering how much per figure is reasonable.

jlh Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 4:07pm
post #4 of 5