Need Help - Piping Tips For Newbie

Decorating By G_Cakes Updated 2 Apr 2009 , 1:48am by G_Cakes

G_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
G_Cakes Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 5:44am
post #1 of 12

I am new to CC, and have only recently began to experiment with different ideas as far as cake decorating goes.

I love working with fondant, and am currently experimenting with gum paste flowers.

My biggest draw back is that I can not pipe anything to save my life!!!

I have gotten many books from the library, watched videos online and still my piping is terrible.

I see all the wonderful pictures online where everyone does perfect little dots, or beautiful basket weaves, or elegant writing all piped with various types of frosting's... but sadly I can not even pipe a straight line never mind a peakless dot on parchment paper and I practice it almost daily.

I am not sure what I am doing wrong, but am hoping there may be someone out there who has a tip or special technique that will help me get the hang of piping.

Thanks for reading and looking forward to any feedback and help. icon_redface.gif

11 replies
ClassyMommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ClassyMommy Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:06am
post #2 of 12

Welcome to CC!!! icon_biggrin.gif

I am not that great either, but I have noticed that I am getting better with practice. I just keep reminding myself that practice makes better! Another thing that it could be is the consistency of your buttercream. I have also heard a good tip that helps me is to keep some ice off to the side on a plate and every few minutes put your icing bag down on the ice so that it can get cold again. I guess your hand can warm up the icing making it not look right when it comes out. What happens when you pipe icing? I guess that there could be a number of things happening. Are you able to keep your hands steady?

Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 7:30am
post #3 of 12