Anybody Know How To Make A Chocolate Record??

Decorating By cakesformykids Updated 31 Mar 2009 , 7:57pm by christeena

cakesformykids Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 4:54am
post #1 of 5

Okay, so I am completely new to cake decorating, so far I have only decorated 2 cakes and did pretty well, to my surprise..I am the type that really likes to think about things for awhile and currently have 3 cakes "mentally" in the works and am having trouble thinking one through so I am hoping that somebody here has a recommendation...what I am going to be doing is a cake for my daughter's 2nd birthday...she wants a Ni-Hao Ki-lan bday and what I decided to do was make 2 square cakes into turntables and make a fondant Ho-Ho (a monkey character on the cartoon that spins music, for those of you w/out kidsicon_smile.gif.....I want to make 2 chocolate records to put on top of the square cakes to create the look of turntables...I have 3 months until her birthday so I have plenty of time...anybody with suggestions?? Thank you so much!!!

4 replies
Lidunka25 Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 5:06am
post #2 of 5

Does it have to be chocolate? Did you think about chocolate marshmallow fondant and let it dry up? U can roll it flat and just cut circle with pot or cake form... u know what i mean right? And with knife or pastry wheel do the record lines and in the middle with cup the yellow circle. Do you get me? I hope I understood your question correctly icon_smile.gif

Sweet_Guys Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 1:36pm
post #3 of 5

There is a chocolate record mold out on the market that you could purchase, fill, refrigerate, and pop out. We have molded them and then added sayings in buttercream, royal, or chocolate.

Paul & Peter

sheilabelle Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:52pm
post #4 of 5