Am I The Only One Who This Has Happend Too?

Decorating By SweetSweetCreations Updated 29 Mar 2009 , 12:14am by SweetSweetCreations

SweetSweetCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetSweetCreations Posted 28 Mar 2009 , 10:19pm
post #1 of 13

So about a month ago I delivered an order of cupcakes and 6" cake to a client. The 6" was messed up when we got there so I didn't charge her for the order. I am self-taught with about 1 1/2 years under my belt, I bake from home and I am pretty busy with word of mouth business. The lady was happy and said she had reffered me to a friend and would be calling me again so ok. Well I am a nervous wreck now, every cake I have done has been less than I am capable of. I don't know what it is. The clients are still happy but I can tell they are not what they should be. I made a starbucks cake for a birthday gift yesterday and didn't think I was gonna be able to do it and it still wasn't right. The fondant I tried to put on it didn't work out so I did it in buttercream which as we all know isn't the same look. It is cute and my sister in law loved it even though it was kinda leaning by the time we got it to her. So am I the only one this has happened to? I hope I snap out of this soon icon_cry.gif 
LL

12 replies
gringa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gringa Posted 28 Mar 2009 , 10:33pm
post #2 of 13

Don't fret my dear. Your work is excellent. DARLING Starbucks cake.....your mojo isn't gone, relax. Some cakes are just better than others, for whatever reason! Keep on caking!

kjt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kjt Posted 28 Mar 2009 , 10:38pm
post #3 of 13

First...put down the icing bag, now take a deep breath! icon_biggrin.gif

I think this has happened (or happens) to most decorators from time to time. Your Starbucks cake rocks thumbs_up.gif . The cup itself-wow- I can't believe that's a piped logo. I adore the "tile" cake board-nice touch!