What Would You Charge For Dummy Cake???

Decorating By pattycakes55d Updated 26 Mar 2009 , 12:44am by tonedna

pattycakes55d Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakes55d Posted 25 Mar 2009 , 7:55am
post #1 of 12

I am new to this and could use some help. I have a lady who is on a strict budget and wants a 3 tiered dummy cake to present at the reception. She doesn't want a sheet cake or anything else. First of all, I'm not sure whether to do this since I don't think it's worth it, however it would get my name out there. Not sure about decorations, but it would be simple. What do you think I should charge?

Thanks for your expertise.

11 replies
PatricesPieces Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PatricesPieces Posted 25 Mar 2009 , 8:10am
post #2 of 12

Welcome to Cake Central pattycakes. You will soon be addicted to this site like the rest of us are.

Here is my answer to your question...

You are still spending a lot of time decorating the dummie cake. I would want to know what they are serving for cake if they are not having you do a "kitchen cake" for them. They may be buying sheet cakes from another bakery or grocery store, so you may not want your name attached to someone else's cakes. You need to ask yourself what your time is worth. Do you want to make $15.00/hr $20.00/hr. How much time would it take you to decorate a dummie cake? What are your costs? You have to figure all this in. Some brides think it is cheaper to have a dummie cake decorated, when in fact it still takes the same amount of time to decorate a dummie cake as it would a real cake. So there is no time difference here..except for the baking part. If I were you, I would ask a few more questions before I committed. See what their budget is and where they are getting their cake that is going to be served. Those would be my first questions. I hope this helps.

Patrice

CakeDiosa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiosa Posted 25 Mar 2009 , 8:15am
post #3 of 12