Food Safe Brushes For Handpainted Cakes

Decorating By Horrorxgirl Updated 27 Mar 2009 , 2:10am by Ballymena

Horrorxgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Horrorxgirl Posted 25 Mar 2009 , 6:09am
post #1 of 11

Ok. I'm new to caking but I've been painting for years. I want to try my hand at handpainted fondant. My biggest problem is the only food safe brushes I've found so far are from Michael's and they are not too far off from the quality of the paintbrushes that come with a kids first watercolor paint set. Not exactly artist quality. I need brushes that have better shapes and substance to them. Anybody have any suggestions? Here is my first try at handpainting fondant and although I'm kinda happy with the results I KNOW I could do way better than this if I just had the proper tools. And while I'm on the subject, so far I've only used color gels and paste by Wilton mixed with clear vanilla for my painting. Any better suggestions? Do they actually make an edible paint for stuff like this?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/horrorxgirl/3332579948/

10 replies
Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 25 Mar 2009 , 6:20am
post #2 of 11

Country kitchen sweetArt actually has food safe brushes I believe. Check it out if it works.

KellBell22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KellBell22 Posted 25 Mar 2009 , 6:33am
post #3 of 11

I'm sorry I don't have any suggestions, I have to say that your painting is excellent!! So I'm giving you a bump cause I've actually wanted to know about this as well. icon_smile.gif

Horrorxgirl Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 1:14am
post #4 of 11

bump

Rylan Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 5:55am
post #5 of 11

MY suggestion isn't good enough? If its not then I don't know what you are looking for.

Horrorxgirl Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 6:27pm
post #6 of 11

I did see two brushes they sell on that website. Still haven't gotten an answer about the paint question so I bumped.

Rylan Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 10:09pm
post #7 of 11