Do You Charge Extra For Square Cakes?

Business By love2makecakes Updated 26 Mar 2009 , 11:01am by deliciously_decadent

love2makecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
love2makecakes Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 10:41pm
post #1 of 26

For some reason I hate doing square cakes, I feel like they take me longer to ice than just a round cake. I get crazy about the corners and want them to look perfect so I take all this extra time to accomplish that. I have bride who I have signed to do a round stacked wedding cake, this week however she has asked me if I can do square cakes. So how should I handle this now that they have already paid in full for the whole cake, but if I switch to squares that adjust the amount of servings, amount of work and etc.

25 replies
akgirl10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
akgirl10 Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 11:24pm
post #2 of 26

Well if the square tiers have more servings, then you will have to adjust your price accordingly.

I'm not very good at squares either, but if I sold cakes I wouldn't charge more just for the shape. I would just have to practice with more square cakesicon_smile.gif.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 25 Mar 2009 , 12:04am
post #3 of 26

A 10" square naturally costs more than a 10" round because you are getting more cake ... 10"round serves 38; 10"square serves 50.

I do know of places that charge an extra per-person fee JUST because it's square.

I personally never understood why they do that, but then I'm one that loves doing square cakes. 74% of the weddings I've done have been square (yes, I counted up one day).

I'm thinking of charging more for cream cheese iced cakes. I hate cream cheese iced cakes. Really, really, hate cream cheese iced cakes. Really. No, not kidding. REALLY! icon_eek.gif

sweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcakes Posted 25 Mar 2009 , 12:10am
post #4 of 26

indydebi,