Soy Vs Vegan...?

Decorating By JaneDee Updated 24 Mar 2009 , 5:39pm by JaneDee

JaneDee Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 5:30pm
post #1 of 3

I've made plenty of vegan cakes. But if someone is allergic to dairy, and you have to use soy ingredients is that the same thing?

I was reading the common sense thread earlier so this might be one of those "duh" questions but I'm just being slow I guess...

Would I make the cake and icing just like I would a vegan cake or is there something else I have to do if someone is allergic to dairy.

(Yes I know the more I typed the more I think I realized how much of a "duh" question that is.)

2 replies
Ballymena Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 5:35pm
post #2 of 3

Of course vegan would not have any dairy in it. As far as soy milk or yogurt, I use it all the time in my baking instead of dairy.

JaneDee Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 5:39pm
post #3 of 3

Okay, I just wanted to make sure that it'd be the same as making a vegan cake.

Ugh... That REALLY was a "duh" question. Sorry! Minds being slow today.

Thank you

Quote by @%username% on %date%