Amateur At Fondant, What Did I Do Wrong?

Decorating By bakinglover Updated 24 Mar 2009 , 8:25pm by cakesthatrock

bakinglover Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakinglover Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 4:48pm
post #1 of 17

I am new to fondant but have worked in bakeries before. I worked with a chef a few weeks ago and made my first cake. I am in the process of making a cake for my husband to take to work. It is an 11x17 with 2 layers. Maybe to big for my first go! I am using Satin Ice fondant. I did not get enough out the first couple of times I rolled it out and wound up rolling it out 3 times on Sunday, got frustrated and walked away. Last night I added more fondant and rolled it out again. Put it on the cake and it is scaly and will not go smooth. Did I over work the fondant? Just trying to figure out what I did wrong to correct it in the future. Thank for your help.

16 replies
Niliquely Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Niliquely Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:00pm
post #2 of 17

I had that happen once...I think it dried out. I added some Crisco back in and worked it until the dry scalies disappeared. Don't know if that helps!

bakinglover Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:07pm
post #3 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niliquely

I had that happen once...I think it dried out. I added some Crisco back in and worked it until the dry scalies disappeared. Don't know if that helps!

The cake is in the fridge. Do you think it would be okay to take the fondant off and work it in with the crisco and start over or just give up on this one? Thanks!

Niliquely Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:11pm
post #4 of 17

You put your fondant cakes in the fridge? I'm not very experienced, but I always leave fondant out of the fridge...is this a practice cake or a cake to sell?

splash2splat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
splash2splat Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:18pm
post #5 of 17