I Got Another Call From The Hearing Impaired Phone Again....

Business By littlecake Updated 28 Mar 2009 , 10:02pm by redpanda

littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 11:56pm
post #1 of 15

when they asked if i'd accept it i said "no, they are usually scammers from nigeria trying to get my hard earned $$$$$.

anyhoo...i haven't had one in awhile, i just wanted to give ya'll the heads up that they are calling again.

14 replies
bbmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bbmom Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 12:09am
post #2 of 15

Hmmm, when I worked in a store-years ago, the only time I got those calls, it was actually a service calling for a hearing impaired person with a question. Maybe someone wants a cake?

KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 12:11am
post #3 of 15

Watch out tho! I get those calls too and one day I was feeling ornery and said "this is a hoax" and the other person was so confused.... turns out it was a real customer! And it's not like I could explain myself very well with that relay junk. I ended up smoothing it over and they did come in and order a real cake..... so just make sure not to be too rude! I just go along with it until I am 100% sure.

littlecake Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 12:39am
post #4 of 15

well the last time i was on the phone with them for at least 20 minutes....you can't tell that's what it is until they start emailing you.

it's sad if it was really a hearing impaired person....but why wouldn't they just come by the shop?...i've had many hearing impaired people come by....it was easy to take their order, they can still write, and they could always read my lips....it just seems fishy to me.....

great...now i'm mean to the hearing impaired.

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 1:12am
post #5 of 15

If they really want a cake, they will call or stop by. Don't worry about it. That's the last thing you need to worry about!