Cake Spackle Under Fondant

Decorating By PennySue Updated 24 Mar 2009 , 8:24pm by Ladyfish74

PennySue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PennySue Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 11:08pm
post #1 of 11

I just tried Toba's cake spackle on my cake and I love how it worked. I am wondering if anyone has used it as icing under fondant. It smoothes so nicely and makes such sharp edges.
Thanks!

10 replies
cakedoll Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedoll Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 11:12pm
post #2 of 11

I'm going to give you a bump as I am no expert on this. I have tried it once under fondant and it worked fine for me.

PennySue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PennySue Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 11:28pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks. I can't see why it would not work, unless there is something I'm just not thinking of.

CakeMommy3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommy3 Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 12:49am
post #4 of 11

Ooh that sounds interesting! What exactly is the cake spackle?

mclaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mclaren Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 12:56am
post #5 of 11

i have the same question as CakeMommy3...

cakedoll Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedoll Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 11:29am
post #6 of 11

cake spackle is where you mix your cake crumbs with the icing that goes under the final icing coat or the fondant.

There was an earlier thread where it was discussed and I was trying to find it for you. You can google it also and there are a few sites that explain it and give directions for how to do it.

I don't do cakes on a daily basis; the one time I did try it, it was a very humid day and it worked great.

majka_ze Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
majka_ze Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 11:43am
post #7 of 11

I don't use it as icing alone, but it is wonderful for 3D cakes (without pan).
Cut to much from your cake? Put cake spackle there. Need small detail - again, cake spackle.