First Time Fondant User

Decorating By perky682 Updated 31 Mar 2009 , 8:49am by Sabz

perky682 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
perky682 Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 16

i am making a cake for my son's 2nd bday in a couple of weeks and the cake i have chosen has a 3D character on top that is made out of styro covered in fondant. i have never used fondant before and am starting to get concerned does anyone have any recommendations about using fondant that might be helpful cause i'm lost lol thanks so much!!

15 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 8:54pm
post #2 of 16

unfortunately the best tip is practice! and leave much mote time than you think you will need!
think about what you use to roll out your fondant - different methods work for different people - using crisco, cornflour or powdered sugar.
think about your fondant - making your own apparently tastes better (never tried!) but can be harder to work with if you dont know how fondant works. wilton tastes rubbish but is apparently good to work with. there are other brands that taste better though, and work as good.
what figure are you covering?
good luck icon_smile.gif
xx

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 10:33pm
post #3 of 16

Hi there, welcome to CC and congrads on your first post.

I totaly agree with brincess_b. You need to keep practicing, but hope these links would help you in some way.

This is how you could cover a round cake with fondant,

http://www.wilton.com/decorating/fondant/rolled-fondant.cfm

And here how you could cover a square cake,

" rel="nofollow">

You can roll it out on cornstarch or crisco. Anything works best for you.

HTH. icon_smile.gif

perky682 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
perky682 Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 6:09pm
post #4 of 16